Graydon James & the Young Novelists Celebrate Their Album Release at the Horseshoe

Graydon James & the Young Novelists put together a great bill to celebrate their release of In the Year You Were Born. And to add to the great bill, the band made the atmosphere so welcoming by offering tea. Graydon James fronts this band with Alex Dodd on keys, Shawn Jurek on bass, John Law on guitar, Mike Paddags on drums and Laura Spink singing backup vocals. The band plays feel good folk/roots music and attracted a good-sized crowd to help celebrate their album release.

The band focused their set on songs from the latest album, but they also played a few songs released in 2009, “Alyson, Everything I Know is Wrong” and “For the Record” from Goodnight, Young Novelist and “You Don’t Feel Young Anymore” from Mistakes, Outtakes & Unfinished Business. The band is undeniably prolific, but the songs all come across as thoughtful and heartfelt. The same is true for their live show, as James’ sincerity on stage is obvious.

As the set was nearing its end, the band played some of their more upbeat tunes, “The Way it Was” and “I Was a Young Man’s Son,” which were personal favourites in the set. You can stream and/or purchase any of the band’s albums via their Bandcamp.


Next Post

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Department
of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund) and of Canada's Private Radio Broadcasters.

©2024 The Young Novelists. All Rights Reserved. Design by Janine Stoll Media.